Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Interviewed by: Bookie
Spotlighted Site: GlassRattler.com

We were lucky enough to catch up with the second place winner of UBBDev's Member Spotlight, Devon Shannon from Glassrattler.com. To see just how he was able to pull of creating such a beautiful board.

UBBDev: What is your background and how long have you been on the web?

Glassrattler: My background had nothing to do with computers or the web, but I have been playing around on the net for the last 3 or 4 years.

UBBDev: How did you brainstorm the idea behind GlassRattler?

Glassrattler: I saw a need for fans around various leagues to have a place to talk about there team.

UBBDev: How long has GlassRattler been on the web for?

Glassrattler: Glassrattler was started in August of 2001.

UBBDev: What was your reason for purchasing the ubb for your site?

Glassrattler: After seeing a few sites like Clan 3:16 and the Netwerkin sites, and seeing what all could be done. Getting a UBB was a pretty easy choice.

UBBDev: What do you like and dislike most about the UBB?

Glassrattler: Likes, no question the flexibility to customize a UBB. Dislikes huh, can't really think of any other than my UBB seems to be a bandwidth hog.

UBBDev: What do you do to keep your site "fresh" and what do you recommend to keep people coming back for more?

Glassrattler: I am always looking to improve GlassRattler, from something as simple as adding new Avatars or a whole new look, just anything to keep the members from getting bored with the site.

UBBDev: Name the mod to your ubb that you like the best, and name the mod your users like the best?

Glassrattler: Not really a mod anymore with 6.2, but I like Who's Online, it lets you see how much traffic you are getting and let you know what topics are interesting to your members. My member love there Avatars, no question that is the most important to them.