Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Interviewed By: Greg Hard, aka, MasterMind

I got down and dirty (well, not really) with the owners of planethex - our second place winner this month. Here is what both of them had to say. Do YOU like my hair?

UBBDEV: What is your background with computers, and how did you get started on the web?

Cuzz: I had this computer a few years back and never did anything with it. One day, my friend Clayton came over and showed me this demo cd of a game called Quake. He said you could play it on the internet with multiple players. I was such a newbie on PC's I thought my 4mb vid card ruled! Years later, I'm now a web designer for a company in California.

magnus088: It was a jr. High computer class full of old Apple II's. At the time I didn't know we were on the "web". One day I just looked up and that's what it was. Weird huh?

UBBDEV: How did you come up with the idea for planethex?

Cuzz: Planethex developed from a 3 person idea one morning over an AIM chat. Our Counter-Strike Gaming Team needed a website and forums to handle the events and to keep in touch with all of our members. I launched the site in October with the help of my partner (magnus088) and have enjoyed it's popularity in the gaming community.

magnus088: Cuzz designed the initial PlanetHEX and from there, it soon evolved with input from members and our own ideas.

UBBDEV: Why did you choose UBB over other forum software?

Cuzz: I saw a website that was using UBB and really liked what I saw in relationship to how things could be set up and organized. So I bought a copy and went to town. The support for UBB is great. The community is very helpful.

magnus088: ummm. That's what cuzz had?

UBBDEV: Intel or AMD Processors?

Cuzz: Easy answer. Intel.

magnus088: Whatever's on sale.

UBBDEV: Are there any "tricks of the trade" you'd like to share that any UBB owner can use to improve the success of their site?