Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Interview by: Deb
Spotlighted site: KAAU.com
This month's 2nd place Member Spotlight winner KAAU.com is a nice example of developing a site to suit the needs of users. Wanted has created a site that fits his mood and the requirements of a well-rounded forum to share information. We caught up with Wanted to get the inside scoop on his site...

UBBDev:
What is your background and how long have you been on the web?

KAAU:
My relationship with computers started when I was 8 years old and from that day on the computer became my first friend and I spent most of my days in front of it. That has helped me finish my double majors ( Industrial Engineering & Computer Sciense ) and also I'm a professional web designer. But if we are talking about CGI exactly... my relationship with it started when I purchased my first UBB and it was v5.40.

UBBDev:
How did you brainstorm the idea behind KAAU.com?

KAAU:
It was a very simple idea, the orginal KAAU Industrial Engineering Department - Student Den Web site was already available before I worked on it. What I did is just added life to the site by using UBB and some of its integrated hacks, some other php scripts and for sure, a new design.
The hard thing about the site that it was my Term Project and it's not enough to make it work well or to have it looking good, it should be built on the industrial (System) Engineering Concepts. Also it should contain a good User guide, so writing the documents & Guide took time more than the modification of the UBB itself.

UBBDev:
AMD or Intel, which do you prefer?

KAAU:
I believe that AMD is better, but I'm using Intel and I'll keep using it.

UBBDev:
Did you feel adding modifications to the UBB was easy or somewhat difficult?

KAAU: