Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Mod Name / Version: My Contacts 1.0

Description: Adds a simple contact manager to threads to save and track your contacts.

Name,Address,City,State,Phone,Fax,Email,Website,Title,Affiliation,Notes are some of the fields

Customize it the way you want.

Working Under: UBB.Threads 6.2-6.3-6.4

Mod Status: Beta

Any pre-requisites: UBBThreads

Author(s): Omegatron

Date: 01/23/04

Credits:

Files Altered: None

New Files: mycontacts.php,showcontacts.php,editcontacts.php,addcontact.php,contact_config.php

Database Altered: Yes New Table {$config['tbprefix']}Contacts.

Info/Instructions: Thanks to Shortbus for commisioning it.

Disclaimer: Please backup every file that you intend to modify.
If the modification modifies the database, it's a good idea to backup your database before doing so.

Note: If you modify your UBB.Threads code, you may be giving up your right for "official" support from Infopop.If you need official support, you'll need to restore unmodified files.
Attachments
106089-mycontacts.zip (0 Bytes, 56 downloads)

Sponsored Links
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Hacker
Hacker
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Is this an external thing (i.e. No files altered)?

Just a thought, maybe an "Add to Contacts" in profile pages which adds a user with some of the info if its in that users profile?

wheels turning

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
External yes. I altered it from a membership database script I wrote for a non-profit I am president of. It is a very simple script.

I can write up a simple script to add a link in the profile page the desired information from a user's profile However by default that would only be email and website and possibly name but this script has a first and last name field. Normal Threads users dont have phone fax etc address etc. but if they use dimopoulis's contact Threads scripts they might or if they have a modified threads install.

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 610
Code Monkey
Code Monkey
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 610
He added this on my site and it works great so far. I think it will be a heavily used feature...

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Omegatron,

Great work

I have found a little bug, well I think it's a bug.

In the /contact/mycontacts.php list where it shows the contacts you have an option to click on the email address and it's not linking properly. It does show mailto: in the bottom left corner of IE though


BWilliams

Sponsored Links
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
In mycontacts.php change:
Code
<a href="mailto:"$mem_email">$mem_email</a>

to:
Code
<a href="mailto:$mem_email">$mem_email</a>

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Thanks Bobby and Josh,

Yeah gotta love typo's updated the attachment

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
I have been doing alot of typo's lately. I think alzheimers is setting in you know that age thing and all.

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Chuck,

Love the ad on. Now the question is... How do I make it show where the users are in the "who's online" (Showing Private right now)

Thanks,

BWilliams

Sponsored Links
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Include a line in your online.php file in your language folder that looks something like:

Code
$ubbt_lang['mycontacts']  = 	"Viewing Contacts";

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
[]DLWebmaestro said:
Include a line in your online.php file in your language folder that looks something like:

Code
$ubbt_lang['mycontacts']  = 	"Viewing Contacts";
[/]
I should have known that

Thanks

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Thanks Little Josh. Yeah forgot to add that although it might be more like this

$ubbt_lang['mycontacts'] = "Viewing Contact List";
$ubbt_lang['addcontact'] = "Adding a Contact";
$ubbt_lang['editcontact'] = "Editing a Contact";
$ubbt_lang['showcontact'] = "Viewing a Contact";

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
don;t forget the..

$ubbt_lang['scrubbing'] = "Scrubbing the Floors and Doing the Windows";

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
I think I found a bug.

The zip code field is not following through on initial submission, but will if you edit contact and re-add it.

Am I doing something wrong

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Righto you are.

In addcontact.php in the INSERT query there is this

'$zipcode_q' should be this '$mem_zipcode_q'

when I get a minute I will update the build

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
Hmmm sounds like the insert command isn;t inserting the zipcode. check the array where he is putting it all together and make sure it looks ok.

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
see I told you

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
That did the trick

Thanks

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 153
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 153
Very nice. I love this.
I would like to change the type of contact...
Leave it as it is but use a different name for the type of contact.

Where can i edit this?

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
TRY

in addcontact.php find

<select name="type">
<option value="Family">Family</option>
<option value="Friends">Friends</option>
<option value="Work">Work</option>

change to

<select name="type">
<option value="{$contact_lang['TYPE1']}">{$contact_lang['TYPE1']}</option>
<option value="{$contact_lang['TYPE2']}">{$contact_lang['TYPE2']}</option>
<option value="{$contact_lang['TYPE3']}">{$contact_lang['TYPE3']}</option>

in mycontacts.php

find

$tbopen
<tr>
<td align="center" class="lighttable">
<form method="post" action="addcontact.php">
<input type="submit" name="add" value="Add a Contact" class="buttons" />
</form>
<form method="post" action="mycontacts.php">
<input type="hidden" name="type" value="Family">
<input type="submit" name="Submit" value="Get Family" class="buttons" />
</form>
<form method="post" action="mycontacts.php">
<input type="hidden" name="type" value="Friends">
<input type="submit" name="Submit" value="Get Friends" class="buttons" />
</form>
<form method="post" action="mycontacts.php">
<input type="hidden" name="type" value="Work">
<input type="submit" name="Submit" value="Work" class="buttons" />
</form>
</td>
</tr>
$tbclose

change to

$tbopen
<tr>
<td align="center" class="lighttable">
<form method="post" action="addcontact.php">
<input type="submit" name="add" value="Add a Contact" class="buttons" />
</form>
<form method="post" action="mycontacts.php">
<input type="hidden" name="type" value="{$contact_lang['TYPE1']}">
<input type="submit" name="Submit" value="Get {$contact_lang['TYPE1']}" class="buttons" />
</form>
<form method="post" action="mycontacts.php">
<input type="hidden" name="type" value="{$contact_lang['TYPE2']}">
<input type="submit" name="Submit" value="Get {$contact_lang['TYPE2']}" class="buttons" />
</form>
<form method="post" action="mycontacts.php">
<input type="hidden" name="type" value="{$contact_lang['TYPE3']}">
<input type="submit" name="Submit" value="{$contact_lang['TYPE3']}" class="buttons" />
</form>
</td>
</tr>
$tbclose

in contactconfig.php

add

$contact_lang['TYPE1'] = "Family";
$contact_lang['TYPE2'] = "Friends";
$contact_lang['TYPE3'] = "Work";

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 153
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 153
Thank you very much. I will try it. Looks great!

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
that way you can call it whatever ya want and also put it in different languages and even ADD to it...

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
LOL Scroungr Thanks I am gonna update this and add language strings and ability to add types etc. This is kinda a stand alone app .

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 610
Code Monkey
Code Monkey
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 610
[]Omegatron said:
I have been doing alot of typo's lately. I think alzheimers is setting in you know that age thing and all. [/]

okay, I was just going over this thread and have to call you on "commisioning". Missing an "s".

Just wanted to pester you .


Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
isaac
isaac
California
Posts: 1,157
Joined: July 2001
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,573
Posts293,925
Members13,849
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,833
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2024 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20221218)