Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Mod Name / Version: Add IIP Entrance as a Start Page Option 1.0

Description: This allows a user to choose the IIP Entrance as their start page.

Working Under: UBB.Threads 6.4

Mod Status: Finished

Any pre-requisites: IIP 5.4

Author(s): DLWebmaestro

Date: 10/10/03

Credits: TampaInsider for requesting it

Files Altered: /ubbt.inc.php, /editdisplay.php, /languages/english/editdisplay.php, /templates/default/editdisplay.tmpl

New Files: none

Database Altered: none

Info/Instructions: May work under previous versions of UBB.Threads and IIP, but not tested.


Disclaimer: Please backup every file that you intend to modify.
If the modification modifies the database, it's a good idea to backup your database before doing so.

Note: If you modify your UBB.Threads code, you may be giving up your right for "official" support from Infopop.If you need official support, you'll need to restore unmodified files.


Attachments
96750-entrancestartpage1.0.txt (0 Bytes, 117 downloads)

Sponsored Links
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 118
Journeyman
Journeyman
Offline
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 118
DLW, Thanks a bunch!

However, I got the following error in the browser when the site would load

Parse error: parse error, expecting `','' or `';'' in /home/tampains/public_html/ubbthreads/ubbt.inc.php on line 1293

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: getmicrotime() in /home/tampains/public_html/ubbthreads/main.inc.php on line 16

Those were due to this line below, which makes no sense to me

1292 if ( ($startpage == "en") && ($firstlogin) ) {
1293 echo <<<EOF THIS IS THE LINE THAT GAVE THE ERROR
1924 <html>
1295 <head>
1296 <meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="1;url={$config['phpurl']}/index.php?Cat=$Cat">
1297 </head>
1298 <body>
1299 </body>
1300 </html>
1301 EOF;
1302 exit;
1303 }


Thanks for all your your time and help in this.

-TampaInsider

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Does that whole section look exactly like this?:

Code
<br />      if ( ($startpage == "mi") && ($firstlogin) ) {<br />		   echo <<<EOF<br /><html><br /><head><br /><meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="1;url={$config['phpurl']}/$main?Cat=$Cat"><br /></head><br /><body><br /></body><br /></html><br />EOF;<br />			exit;<br />      }<br /><br />	if ( ($startpage == "en") && ($firstlogin) ) {<br />		   echo <<<EOF<br /><html><br /><head><br /><meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="1;url={$config['phpurl']}/index.php?Cat=$Cat"><br /></head><br /><body><br /></body><br /></html><br />EOF;<br />			exit;<br />      }<br />

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 118
Journeyman
Journeyman
Offline
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 118
Sure does... I even copied and pasted the stuff you just wrote...same thing...

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Could you email me a copy of your ubbt.inc.php file so that I may go over the code?

[][email protected][/]

Just so that you believe me when I assure you this mod works, you can test it out by logging into my site at http://www.drumlines.org/betathreads and logon using test and password threadsdev.

Sponsored Links
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 118
Journeyman
Journeyman
Offline
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 118
Check your mail.

I see it did work on your site so I don't see what's keeping mine from working.

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
All fixed. Seems it was a formatting problem. The instructions on this page aren't formatted exactly how they should be, so use the attachment for best measure.

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
Yes, the Info/Instructions section in the post is really intended for general information that helps explain what the hack is or does. It's better to include the detailed code changes only in the attachment, unless the code changes are very simple.

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Ahhh...hehe. I'll do that then.

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 118
Journeyman
Journeyman
Offline
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 118
All is good now... The Mod is working beautifully

Sponsored Links
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Works like a charm, thanks

Now, what is the sql command to change ALL users to this default setting?

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 610
Code Monkey
Code Monkey
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 610
drums, I clicked the link to your beta page and got a big fat error. just fyi.

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 554
Code Monkey
Code Monkey
Offline
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 554
Doesn't the link in the Menu PAL box "Call us Home" do this for you?

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
[]ChAoS said:
Doesn't the link in the Menu PAL box "Call us Home" do this for you? [/]
"Call Us Home" makes the website your home page on your web browser. The hack lets you choose what page page you want it to go to after logging in. Currently you have the option to goto "My Home" or the forum.

The hack is great, it gets the users to your front entrance page after logging in.


P.S.- Still waiting for an sql command to default all users

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 554
Code Monkey
Code Monkey
Offline
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 554
Oh now I understand.Users that choose not to save their login info (lan cafe,public computer,etc) don't have to make that extra click to go back to the Entrance page. Handy!!

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Is this the correct SQL Command to default users to the Entrance Page after loggin in:

Code
<br />UPDATE w3t_Users <br />SET U_StartPage = "en" <br />


Thanks,

BWilliams

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
looks right to me.

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 18
Newbie
Newbie
Offline
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 18
any chance of getting this updated for 6.5 ?

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
it is updated.. its included as part of the instructions for IIP 6.5.1

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 18
Newbie
Newbie
Offline
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 18
I think I installed IIP 6.5 ??
there are so many versions of IIP it was confusing.

in any case this mod says to find the following in ubbt.inc.php

--------------
if ( ($startpage == "mi") && ($firstlogin) ) {
echo <<<EOF
<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="1;url={$config['phpurl']}/$main?Cat=$Cat">
</head>
<body>
</body>
</html>
EOF;
exit;
}
----------------

I do not find that structure in that file ?

Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,305
might be a similar sturcture look in ubbt.inc.php for that $startpage == "mi"


Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Posts: 70
Joined: January 2007
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,573
Posts293,925
Members13,849
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,833
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2024 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20221218)