Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rating: 5
Page 6 of 11 1 2 4 5 6 7 8 10 11
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 241
Coder
Coder
Offline
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 241
One thing I noticed was with the latest code (I think it is, anyway), there is no ability to edit descriptions for Categories. I noticed this when I figured out that my w3t_links_categories table did not have a cat_desc field (probably missed when upgrading from an older version of this mod.). That, in turn, caused the Category display to indent the first line of sub-cats kind of strangely.

Long story shortened: I changed some of the code in links_show_cat.php to account for an empty description. So, around line 161, make this change:
Code
<br />    # Make sure we have something to print.<br />    if ($i <= $Numberofcats) {<br />                print "<br />                        <td valign=\"top\"><img src=\"{$config['phpurl']}/images/folder-c.gif\" alt=\"\" /> <font size=\"2\"><b><a href=\"links.php?op=List_Links&amp;cat_id={$cats['cat_id']}&amp;parent_id={$cats['parent_id']}&amp;title={$cats['title']}\"><u>{$cats['title']}</u></a></b></font><br />";<br />                if (empty($cats['cat_desc'])) {<br />                        //print "No Description.<br />";<br />                } else {<br />                        print "&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;<font size=\"1\">{$cats['cat_desc']}</font><br />";<br />                }<br />


Is the ability to add/modify category descriptions supposed to be there? Or should I add it in myself?

Thanks for all your hard work!


--------------------
Matt Reinfeldt
http://www.mattreinfeldt.com/
Sponsored Links
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Category descriptions were commented out by id242

You might want to view this thread first

https://www.ubbdev.com/forum/showflat.php/Cat/0/Number/101624

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 241
Coder
Coder
Offline
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 241
Okay, that makes more sense then. It was trying to print them out, but there was nothing there (though I did check the last version of the create_tables call and the column was there...). So for now, I will continue to edit the descriptions manually via mysql-front and work on an editing interface when time permits... if noone beats me to it. BTW, here's what it looks like right now, when you have descriptions to print show (and when there are none available): My Links Page

enjoy!


--------------------
Matt Reinfeldt
http://www.mattreinfeldt.com/
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
I actually spent some time on what you said today since Mark is back in action.

I added the capacity to add category descriptions and edit them in the links admin. Only changed file was links_admin.php

Before you could only add descriptions via phpmyadmin.

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 303
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 303
No offense taken, id242. It just caught me wrong at first. I appreciate you taking the time to provide some aesthetic improvements to the script, as mostly what I was doing when I first began the script was to get the inner workings of the code going. That's why it was released as a beta version anyway. Unfortunately I had to drop work on it for personal reasons.

I like Omegatrons idea of configuring the script to either display, or not, the notice. Someone suggested (forgive my memory, it's great but recall tends to be a problem ) possibly putting a link for a PayPal donate for those who wish to contribute. I may do that.

I do appreciate the kind words that people do like the script. That's rewarding in itself.

Anyway, I will be working on the script to further enhance it's usefulness to the community, so with that in mind here is a very short list of what I want to do first.

First and foremost will be the install script. It's pretty ugly due to the errors when you first install the script, so I'll be adding a check to see if there is a db installed yet or not. I think maybe a version check somehow is in order for upgrading from previous versions is in order.

Category descriptions should be the next to follow. It's apparent that Chuck (Omegatron) has already done something with this?

Paginating. Now the way it is written, if you have a zillion links they would all display on one page. So that needs to be addressed.

A configuration script for setting options needs to be written as well. I was thinking of using a db table for this to hold the variables. Any thoughts on this?

Of course, improvement on the admin script.

That's enough for now. Obviously, all input is requested. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 303
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 303
[]Omegatron said:
I actually spent some time on what you said today since Mark is back in action.

I added the capacity to add category descriptions and edit them in the links admin. Only changed file was links_admin.php

Before you could only add descriptions via phpmyadmin. [/]

Chuck, since you did this, did you update the first post? Actually, maybe you can provide just the links_admin as a .txt and I'll grab it.

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
The first post my friend was updated.

I think id242 added the description table but never made the ability to edit them via the script

For the record I have done the following on the script

1.XHTML corrections
2. Added ability to delete cats
3. Added ability to edit and add category descriptions
4. Added the copyright text in a configurable variable.

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 674
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 674
Only thing I really need is the subcats sorted for the drop down list when adding links, so my users can pick the correct spot to add the links. I have resorted to making mini alphabet prefixes to the subcats to get them below catagory names. Looks terrible and functions barely.
Thanks for all the hard work on this its a great addon.

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 303
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 303
Thanks Chuck, I'll be sure to add the probper credits.

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 303
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 303
[]Smilesforu said:
Only thing I really need is the subcats sorted for the drop down list when adding links, so my users can pick the correct spot to add the links. I have resorted to making mini alphabet prefixes to the subcats to get them below catagory names. Looks terrible and functions barely.
Thanks for all the hard work on this its a great addon. [/]

Could you clarify this for me? I think what you are saying is the drop down list should look something like:

Cat 1
Subcat 1
Subcat 2
Subcat 3
Cat 2
Subcat 1
Subcat 2
Subcat 3

etc.?

Sponsored Links
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 241
Coder
Coder
Offline
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 241
Chuck,

that worked beautifully! And the .zip looks much cleaner now, too! Thanks for updating it all!


--------------------
Matt Reinfeldt
http://www.mattreinfeldt.com/
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
No problem that really is the work I have done on this mod is when someone wants something I went in and coded it

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 674
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 674
yes fishtails exactly But right now it sorts alphabetically with all cats and subcats included together

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 303
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 303
On the to do!

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 295
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 295
Hi,

Since you are updating your to do list

Not certain if you saw my post a while back:
----------------------------------------------
Hi,

This hack could be a nice way to make some additional ad revenue. What I was thinking about was to allow sites / companies that you link to to upgrade their link, for a fee or free (up to you I suppose).

This upgrading could be a different style to the link (i.e. larger font / bolder / italics) or even a small banner displayed next to or below the link.

It would be even better if we could add different levels of priority to the links (each with a different style associated to them) and then sort the list on links by priority first before alphabetically.

How much work would it be to add these features?

Sanuk!
----------------------------------------------

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 303
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 303
[]ksanuk said:
Hi,

Since you are updating your to do list

Not certain if you saw my post a while back:
----------------------------------------------
Hi,

This hack could be a nice way to make some additional ad revenue. What I was thinking about was to allow sites / companies that you link to to upgrade their link, for a fee or free (up to you I suppose).

This upgrading could be a different style to the link (i.e. larger font / bolder / italics) or even a small banner displayed next to or below the link.

It would be even better if we could add different levels of priority to the links (each with a different style associated to them) and then sort the list on links by priority first before alphabetically.

How much work would it be to add these features?

Sanuk!
---------------------------------------------- [/]

What I was thinking in terms of this would be a google or ask.com style, where sponsored links would be at the top seperated with a hr or in a sidebar. This, of course is a little further down the to do list though, but definitely on the list.

Thanks for the idea.

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 359
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 359
UBB Threads version 6.4
1st Time Installing this Integration
------------------------------------

Uploaded the files...then went to the links.php file through the net and clicked on Admin so that I could add the Categories. I got this:

--------------------
SQL ERROR: Unable to do_query: SELECT * FROM w3t_links_links WHERE approved = '0' ORDER BY 'date_added'
Table 'smoknz28_Infopop.w3t_links_links' doesn't exist
Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/smoknz28/public_html/ubbthreads/links_admin.php on line 74


SQL ERROR: Unable to do_query: CREATE TABLE w3t_links_categories ( cat_id int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment, parent_id int(11) default NULL, title varchar(50) NOT NULL default '', cat_desc varchar(60) default NULL '', cat_order tinyint(10) NOT NULL default '0', PRIMARY KEY (cat_id) )
You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ''', cat_order tinyint(10) NOT NULL defaDatabase tables have been created. You can now add categories and links.
---------------------

How many tables is this integration suppose to add to the database?

I'm getting errors after running this and just trying to verify a few things.

When I attempt to navigate around within this integration I get:

-----------------
SQL ERROR: Unable to do_query: SELECT * FROM w3t_links_categories WHERE parent_id = '0' ORDER BY 'cat_order'
Table 'smoknz28_Infopop.w3t_links_categories' doesn't exist
Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/smoknz28/public_html/ubbthreads/links_show_cat.php on line 66
There are currently 0 links in our database
------------------------------------

Last edited by smoknz28; 01/13/2004 1:15 AM.
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 123
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 123
Ran into the same issue myself. First, drop the two tables it created in phpMyAdmin. Then look in links_admin.php and replace the create table w3t_links code, (found around line 488), with:

CREATE TABLE w3t_links_categories
(
cat_id int(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT PRIMARY KEY,
parent_id int(11) DEFAULT NULL,
title varchar(50) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
cat_desc varchar(60) DEFAULT NULL,
cat_order tinyint(10) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0'
)

Now run the install script again.

I think I read that fishtails is planning to update the install script when time permits.

Jason

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 295
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 295
Hi,

"What I was thinking in terms of this would be a google or ask.com style, where sponsored links would be at the top seperated with a hr or in a sidebar. This, of course is a little further down the to do list though, but definitely on the list."

That would work for me

Sanuk!

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 241
Coder
Coder
Offline
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 241
I like the other feature suggestions that have been made (adding a small banner for some sites, auto-populating which category a link should be in based on which one you're located in, etc...), but the one thing I haven't seen yet is a 'Report broken link' feature... not too difficult. Could probably even be a PM to the Administrator or something....? Does anyone else need this?


--------------------
Matt Reinfeldt
http://www.mattreinfeldt.com/
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 123
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 123
Dumb question from *greenie* here. Which file do I alter in order to change the default font for links listings? They currently display in 12pt/10pt arial; I'd like to make it verdana or tahoma.

Thx!

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 303
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 303
[]Sky YYZ said:
Dumb question from *greenie* here. Which file do I alter in order to change the default font for links listings? They currently display in 12pt/10pt arial; I'd like to make it verdana or tahoma.

Thx! [/]

links_show_links.php around line 180. Eventually all of the script will be based on the css.

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 359
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 359
[]Sky YYZ said:
Ran into the same issue myself. First, drop the two tables it created in phpMyAdmin. Then look in links_admin.php and replace the create table w3t_links code, (found around line 488), with:

CREATE TABLE w3t_links_categories
(
cat_id int(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT PRIMARY KEY,
parent_id int(11) DEFAULT NULL,
title varchar(50) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
cat_desc varchar(60) DEFAULT NULL,
cat_order tinyint(10) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0'
)

Now run the install script again.

I think I read that fishtails is planning to update the install script when time permits.

Jason [/]

Worked....thanks.

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 674
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 674
Matty good idea.. as my directory gets populated it will be needed.

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 295
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 295
Hi,

Found a small bug in the Top Rated links script. While the averages are calculated correctly, the links are ordered on total amount of points they have received.

This means that a link with 3 times a 1 star rating will appear before a link with once a 5 star rating.

Anyway, obviously not a major issue, but figured I'd point it out anyway.

Sanuk!

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 28
User
User
Offline
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 28
I am just starting a threads driven site and had a question about TLD. I have it installed and I can't seem to make a sub folder.

1. I go to the TLD panel
2. I click on ADMIN
3. I click on "Show Categories"
4. I enter a new category in the box where it says ""Add Sub Category"
5. The category gets added, but not as a sub categrory, it is a top level category.

What am I doing wrong?....


N Grant Swaim
Administrator
autotech-elearning.com
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Line 201 of links.php looks like this

VALUES (0, '$title', '$description')

change to this:

VALUES ('$parent_id', '$title', '$description')

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I installed this for him last night.

I just applied this fix for you.

The file was actually links_admin.php

Thanks.

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Duh yeah I hate typos. Thats the file I meant.

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Yeah, I knew what you meant, just thought I'd post in case anyone else wanted to make the fix to their copy.

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 28
User
User
Offline
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 28
Wow, four posts in an hour...

Thanks Josh! I didn't want to bother you with it... I just assumed it was operator error.

By the way, do you ever sleep. I went to bed at midnight and you installed Chat and Links after that. Thanks for the hustle!

Grant


N Grant Swaim
Administrator
autotech-elearning.com
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
LOL

I never sleep.

But I dream of someday being able to sleep.

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 79
Power User
Power User
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 79
The directions lost me here.

Add a link to your menu to go to http://www.qualityfishing.net/ubbthreads/links.php .

where do I add this link, to what menu?

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Well you add it in your UBBTHREADS templates ubbt_registerednav.tmpl and ubbt_unregisterednav.com

Now I visited your links. You might want to run the create table for links. Or if you problem was the creation of that one table you can go a few posts up and get the updated command.

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 79
Power User
Power User
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 79
I forgot to add the comment that you are dealing with a dork so type slowly, and clearly . ; )

I don't see were to add it in my trnp files ubbt_registerednav.tmpl and ubbt_unregisterednav.temp I don't see anything in there for links, What should it look like?

Also, you say I should also run the create table for links. How do I do that?

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 359
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 359
Steelhead, Mmmm....hey, don't try taking any titles away from me!! I'm the biggest numb-nutt when it comes to this php schtuff.... But with time and patience from the many others who've helped me....I'm slowly learning.

I'm not sure that you and Chuck are on the same sheet of music here and to be quite honest...you have lost me as well...but hey, it doesn't take much to lose me on this schtuff. It almost sounds like you are trying to figure out how to add links to your database. However, if that is not the case...then what Chuck is refering to is that if you want to make life a bit easier on your members and would like to integrate a link to your top menu for them...then you would need to add the hyperlink so that they can click on it so it can bring them to the TLD.

If that is what you're trying to do...then go to:

ubbthreads/templates/default/

Open ubbt_registerednav.tmpl (this is the menu bar that your registered users will have available to them)

Edit this file adding the following code somewhere in between your other links:

·
<a href="http://www.qualityfishing.net/ubbthreads/links.php" target="_top">Links</a>


Next, you'll need to open and edit:

ubbt_unregisterednav.tmpl (this is the menu bar that your unregistered users will have available to them)

Edit this file adding the following code somewhere in between your other links:

·
<a href="http://www.qualityfishing.net/ubbthreads/links.php" target="_top">Links</a>

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 79
Power User
Power User
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 79
thanks

Last edited by steelhead; 01/24/2004 3:55 AM.
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 359
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 359
You're welcome...yea, looks like you are up and running.

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Yeah he had the same problem alot of people had the category table did not get created for Links.

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 79
Power User
Power User
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 79
Chuck fixed me.
Thanks again Chuck

Dan

Page 6 of 11 1 2 4 5 6 7 8 10 11

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Gizmo
Gizmo
Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 5,833
Joined: January 2000
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,573
Posts293,925
Members13,849
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,833
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2024 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20221218)