Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
User
User
Ok ... first I will preface this to say I am VERY new to this whole hacking thing, and I dont understand any of it ... just ask Josh. hehehe

For most of my forums on my sites I want to have the normal topic order as the default view ... newest topics with replies on top, etc. However, there are certian forums that I want to have different, or unique topic viewing.

1) I would like to have topics in order of when the initial post starter was made (newest to oldest). For instance, this would be for news. So, the most recent news post would be on top. Right now, if a person replies to a news topic that is from 2 weeks ago, it puts that on top of the listing, and that is not what I want.

2) I would like to have topics ordered by alpha (A - Z). This would be for a databased style forum. The order would not change when replies are added. For instance, for my gaming site, each topic would be the name of a game and in alpha order ... like:

RalliSport Challenge
Rally Fusion: Race Of Champions
Rayman Arena
RedCard Soccer 2003
Roller Coaster Tycoon
Run Like Hell

etc.....

Thanks! I am sure I will have more questions as we go along. I am still unsure exactly everything that I want to do with the structure, but this will be a good start.

Sponsored Links
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
That is doable.

I did something similar for Coy7 at www.IyariLimon.com

Bascially you're going to hack around in postlist.php

Haven't looked at any code, but here's my guess.

For number one, I would add an "if" statement to override the "dateslip" check. The way you describe in #1 is how it functions with dateslip off. The posts stay in their order.

For number 2, you'd use an "if" statment, to see if it's a certain board, you'll alter the "ORDER BY" line of the query.

It would change to
"ORDER BY t1.B_Subject ASC"
I believe.