Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Journeyman
Journeyman
Hi..

I am not very good at programming.. and wanted to ask someone how I might go about doing something.

We use a Java chat program, called realchat, which is basically kicked off from a simple Java Applet. The program can be set to take information from a current login session, like username etc.. the only information I want to use, is the users login name, or forum display name.. but I have no idea how to get that information to the applett..

Ideally, id love to add a CHAT button to the top, that loads up the applett, and pipes the display name straight into it, and logs that user into chat.

Can anyone give me any help? If its not a huge job id be happy to pay a bit to have it done?

I am using 6.2.3

-applet
codebase = "."
archive = "RealChat.jar"
code = "rcs.client.RealChatClient.class"
name = "ChatClient"
width = "300"
height = "100"
MAYSCRIPT>

<param name="nick" value="BadJohn">

<param name="pValue1" value="John Doe">
<param name="pValue2" value="35">

<param name="pLabel3" value="Favorite drink:">
<param name="pValue3" value="beer">

<param name="canChangeProfile" value="no">

The "Nick" field would need to be the display name.. the others are not required.

Sponsored Links
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
There is a mod in this forum that allows you to put your chat inside a generic threads page.

it has the authenticate() function at the top, and defines the Username as $Username.

Then you simply put $Username where you want the name to go in your chat stuff.

I use it at measurection.com so when they enter chat, their username is already defined.

I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Like try this one

But replace the jpilot applet code with the code needed for your chat software, and put $Username where you want the name filled in.

Cool just found I can pass this info with my raidersoft applet too. What is the passed on name for password?

Journeyman
Journeyman