Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#225897 10/04/2002 2:16 PM
Power User
Power User
Hey all, so I've been using ubb for about 2 years now and we are thinking of moving to threads. We have had some stability problems which I think is caused by the high usage of our board, usually 150 to 200 in a 30 minute span during the work day.

Anyways I've been looking at the various ubb.thread boards out there and one thing I've noticed is that there is no builtin daily topics. Is this true and if so what hacks are available? Also for people who are old classic users, what features are missing and what ones are there that are in threads that make it worth the switch beyond the speed of using MySQL.

Any other things people could think want to bring up about switching or pointing me in direction of good threads on this board would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Jon

Sponsored Links
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
I have never used .classic so I can't offer any opinions as far as comparisons and pros/cons between the two. There are some .classic -> .threads members here so hopefully they'll chime in when they see your post.

I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
I've upgraded a few classic sites to threads Make sure you've downloaded the latest version of the importer script, and that you import into threads 6.1 - you'll have the best results then Ask if you have more questions regarding that.

For the 'latest threads', check your /addons folder, several scripts are included in there you might like

- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Addict
Addict
daily topics

The UBB.threads equivalent is:

View recent messages
Past 24 hours

This is at the bottom of the Main Index page.

Unlike UBB.classic, this displays the posts made within the last 24 hours, not the posts made since midnight in the server's timezone.

Power User
Power User
Thanks guys.