Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#209208 03/20/2001 4:32 AM
User
User
I found w3t some months ago abnd have bought it and set it up for one group I work with. I'm also a Domino developer though and am working on an online course seminar system. On my own it has taken ages (2 years) plodding along to get it running reasonably, but it's still not a 'whole package' product - I still need to teach some of the course administrators how to use a Notes client to do a lot of the admin and so on. And so I was trying to persuade them to move it to w3t - as I think it does everything they (and I) want their packaged system to do (and took me four hours to set up and customise for them). But no - they want to carry on with Domino and make my life hell.

Don't get me wrong I like Notes and Lotus, I just struggle with it as a web development toold, and I always have the feeling of not really being in control, whereas php and html and sql are relatively transparent - I can work out what's happening when the database spews out data and it magically becomes a page. I can even hand tweak everything to do exactly what I want.

Oh well - another few months in the purgatory of doing something you really don't want to be doing while knowing that you have tasted the greener grass on the other side...

I really think cost is a problem for some people. If you ask them for thousands of pounds they think they are getting something really great and go all gooey eyed in an extacy of expectation, but if you tell them it will cost you 60 pounds or whatever the enchange rate works out at plus a pretty standard configuration of web server they think'how can it be good if it's so cheap'. Something like that - and no, Scream, that's not a cue for you to charge thousands for it!

Just depressed...:-)

Jock

Sponsored Links
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Jock--