Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 4 of 11 1 2 3 4 5 6 10 11
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
Quote
quote:
Well Bubble here is what you do to turn it on. First go into your UBB Control Panel then go into the Primary Settings now finaly go to News Fader Settings which should be under General Display settings in the Primary Settings. If you have any problems or can't get it to work post again and we'll try to help you out smile.


//i wanna scream, show the world i have an inside.
i wanna bleed, let the blood flow, that keeps me alive.
Sponsored Links
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 48
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 48
i got it up running and everything. Work perfect. HOwever, this sucker not appear for me.

[Linked Image]

Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
Well you have to upload that icon to your NonCGI Directory then in the News Fader Settings in the box where it asks for the path to the icon you just put in
the name of the icon you uploaded to your noncgi directory. If you seem to have any more problems just ask smile.

~ M_E_W


//i wanna scream, show the world i have an inside.
i wanna bleed, let the blood flow, that keeps me alive.
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 48
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 48
if ($vars_news_fader{nfimgon} ne "OFF") {
$NewsImg = qq~~;
} else {
$NewsImg = ""; <<<== is this the one?
}

Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
Quote
quote:
Before trying to change any coding make sure you have done this.

Go into you News Fader Settings > Turn the Use Image On > in the url put forum1.gif or whatever you named the icon and make sure it's uploaded to your NonCGI folder. If you have done that and it didn't work then post that so we can try to find out what you did wrong in hacking the code.


//i wanna scream, show the world i have an inside.
i wanna bleed, let the blood flow, that keeps me alive.
Sponsored Links
~;
} else {
$NewsTable = "";
}

if ($vars_news_fader{nfimgon} eq "OFF") {
$NewsCols = $ColSpan;
} else {
$NewsCols = $ColSpan - 1;
}

if ($vars_news_fader{nfon} eq "ON") {
$newslinefader= qq~

$NewsTable

~;
} else {
$newslinefader = "";
}

# Run The News Fader
&ReadNews;

# End News Fader Stuff

Look for:
sub Normal_Table_Row {
my $Row = qq~


";

Replace that code with:
~;
} # end mods column

$Top .= "$newslinefader";

** DONE - SAVE AND CLOSE PUBLIC_FORUM_SUMMARY.PL TEMPLATE **

Ok now you're done. Re-upload these four files. Next go into the Control Panel, Primary Settings -> News Fader Settings,
configure all of your settings and news headlines. Clear your cache and the next time you view your forum summary page,
the News Fader should be there.

Enjoy!
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 48
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 48
urghhhhhhh...this is all i got. I dont' see any box where i can enter the url for the image. I install 1.4

here is the screen shot of news faders setting:

[Linked Image]

and here is the document i use.

| News Fader Hack (For UBB 6.01, Gold [Earthquake])
| Version: 1.4
| By: Slurpee (Brett Norton)
| Web Site: http://www.vhlinks.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This hack will fade in news headlines that you dictate via the control panel in a table row above your forums.
If you are curious how it looks, visit my forums at http://www.vhforums.com for an example.

This is a pretty extensive hack, so make sure and back up all your files first BEFORE making any changes.

First thing is to upload the contents of this zip file to the following folders:
fade.gif -> To your non-cgi folder
fader.js -> To your non-cgi folder
newsfader.txt -> To your non-cgi folder
cp_vars_news_fader.pl -> To your Templates directory
cp_news_fader.cgi -> To your cgi-bin folder (CHMOD this file 755)
vars_news_fader.cgi -> To your variables folder (most likely your cgi-bin folder)- CHMOD this file 777

Ok next the files that need to be edited:

** EDIT CP.CGI **

Look for the following code:
if (($ubb eq 'set_cats') && ($status eq 'Administrator')) {
require "$vars_config{CGIPath}/cp_forums.cgi";
&set_cats; exit;
} #end set_cats

Underneath this add:
if (($ubb eq 'vars_news_fader') && ($status eq 'Administrator')) {
require "$vars_config{CGIPath}/cp_news_fader.cgi";
&NewsFaderSettings; exit;
} #end vars_news_fader

if (($ubb eq 'set_vars_news_fader') && ($status eq 'Administrator')) {
require "$vars_config{CGIPath}/cp_news_fader.cgi";
&SetNewsFaderSettings; exit;
} #end set_vars_news_fader

** DONE - SAVE AND CLOSE CP.CGI **

** EDIT UBB_FORUM_SUMMARY.CGI **

Look for the following code:
} #each cat
$ThisHTML .= &Cat_Page_Bottom;
} #end cat only view

Underneath that code add the following:
sub ReadNews {
$the_page = "";
$newspage = "$vars_config{NonCGIPath}/newsfader.txt";
open(NEWS,"<$newspage");
@lines = ;
close(NEWS);
$the_page = join('', @lines);
}

** DONE - SAVE AND CLOSE UBB_FORUM_SUMMARY.CGI **

** EDIT CP_COMMON.PL TEMPLATE **

Look for the following code:
document.writeln("");

Underneath, add the following:
document.writeln("");

** DONE - SAVE AND CLOSE CP_COMMON.PL TEMPLATE **

** EDIT PUBLIC_FORUM_SUMMARY.PL TEMPLATE **

Look for:
# FORUM SUMMARY PAGE - HTML FRAGMENTS

Underneath add:
require "$vars_config{VariablesPath}/vars_news_fader.cgi";

Look for:
return($PageTop);

} ## END PAGE TOP

Underneath that add this:
# Start News Fader Stuff

# determine colspan
$ColSpan = 3;
if ($vars_display{ShowMods} eq 'yes') { $ColSpan++; }
if ($vars_display{ForumTotalOption} eq 'Both') {
$ColSpan = $ColSpan + 2;
} else {
$ColSpan++;
}

if ($vars_news_fader{nfgreet} ne "") {
$NewsGreet = qq~"$vars_news_fader{nfgreet}","",~;
} else {
$NewsGreet = "";
}

if ($vars_news_fader{nfimgon} ne "OFF") {
$NewsImg = qq~~;
} else {
$NewsImg = "";
}
if ($vars_news_fader{nfimgon} ne "OFF") {
$NewsTable = qq~
$NewsImg

$vars_news_fader{nftitle}









Underneath add the following:






Look for:
~;
} # end mods column

$Top .= "
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
Well I would just say for you to re-download the hack verion 1.4 and go through the instructions again and make sure you didn't miss anything. Also if you were upgrading from 1.3 make sure you are readin the upgrade instructions and not the readme smile. I hope that will fix your problem.


//i wanna scream, show the world i have an inside.
i wanna bleed, let the blood flow, that keeps me alive.
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 5
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 5
Slurpee,

Excellent Hack smile
Having one problem installing tho - well in fact all appears ok, and the default test message appears, but any text that i change in that box (even if i leave most of it as is and remove 1 character) never changes on the message that comes up. If i go back into the cp, the original text is still there, as if it hasn't accepted the save.

Strangely enough tho, it Does seem to accept it, since the fact that if i turn it off in the cp it disappears (as it should do!!).

Checked all the CHMOD's....Cleared Caches etc
Running on UBB 6.01 / Newsfader 1.4

TIA smile

Paul

[ March 24, 2001: Message edited by: toibs ]

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Bubble - You need to re-upload the cp_vars_news_fader.cgi and cp_news_fader.cgi files that are included with the 1.4 zip. They have the new image stuff.

Toibs - After you input the headlines, is the text writing to the newsfader.txt file? If it isn't, it could be that file permissions for the non-cgi directory are off. Also try re-uploading the cp_news_fader.cgi file.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 5
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 5
Slurpee,

Doh!! Hadn't set any permissions on newsfader.txt, so it was still 644. Therefore of coz it couldn't write to it!!

All working loverly now tho smile Thanx for this!

Paul

Sponsored Links
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 41
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 41
AGH! It wont work for me... I am instaling this from scratch.. not upgrading it.. I have followed all the instructions correctly Im sure. I have switched it on in the cp and cleared the cache etc... but nothing shows up on the main page!

Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
Quote
quote:
Try re-uploading the files and making sure they are CHMOD'ed correctly.

~ M_E_W


//i wanna scream, show the world i have an inside.
i wanna bleed, let the blood flow, that keeps me alive.
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 41
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 41
Yer yer... done all that... still not working!

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Jedimark - Is the whole fader area not coming up, or is the news fader itself just not working??

Update on 2.0**
Will try to get it finished today and get it up tonight for those that want it.

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 807
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 807
SWEET!

Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
Awesome! I can't wait for 2.0 laugh


//i wanna scream, show the world i have an inside.
i wanna bleed, let the blood flow, that keeps me alive.
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 51
Slurpee,

Great hack, thanks! laugh A couple of things, you will be making a control panel addition later won't you? smile. Also, visit this forum . Any ideas why the text in the fader itself isn't centered properly?

I have been following this thread but all the fixes for this that I tried screwed up the forum. Hope you can help. Keep up the great work!

AgentX

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
The hack is already control-panel integrated, has been the whole time. Go to the control panel, Primary Settings -> News Fader Settings

Try changing the two instances of "480" in public_forum_summary.pl to a larger number to get the fader centered better. Try 700.

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 807
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 807
slurpee check ur email!

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Jigga - did you get it running?

Update on 2.0 - I am holding off its release until I can find/create a hack that will allow me to show the total board posts and topics in the fader. I can show the total posts by the users files, but most people don't like that. There was one hack on here to track total posts and topics, but that variable must be used in conjunction with the Registered Member Line, which I don't want. So stay tuned.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
ok the hack works great, i just have question:

i would like to change the font /size/face of the fader to match my style.

can anyone tell me which file(s) to modify to do this?

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 40
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 40
Oh boy... I reinstalled the hack many many times... and it shows up, but the fader doesn't run. The browser says tehre's a error in ultimatebb.cgi on line 204, but I doesn't change anything there!

The Board: das Leben

Can anybody help me please?

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
i have had no problems with this hack, apart from the text not been aligned right when i told it to in CP.

check ur ultimatebb.cgi at line 402 would be the 1st thing?

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 40
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 40
There's no error... and when I run the UBB without the Fader, ther is no errormessage...

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 40
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 40
Oh... sorry for my postings, the error ist not the script, the error is my browser wink

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
I have a issue my fader doesn't even show up and i installed everything. I'm like ok what did i do wrong? Here's the link check it out http://gamenexus2k.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi

";

Instances
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
Quick question do i have to edit both
~;
} # end mods column

$Top .= "
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Look closely, they are not the same lines, you do not edit both of them. They are different from each other make sure you edit the right one, from the directions.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1
When I install the hack (v1.4) it screams a Software Error at me:

Quote
quote:
Line 115-118 read as follows:

Quote
quote:
Which file would be wrong? I've tryed hacking all the files again, but nothing works frown

The Control Panel is OK, and all files are CHMODed correctly, but It won't work confused HELP!!!

";

I overlooked and installed into

~;
} # end mods column

$Row .= "";

and it didn't work. So I recommend reuploading public_forum_summary.cgi and try again.

Hope this helps laugh

(For those who didn't know, it works on UBB 6.0 Gold too!)
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
For those who *think* they got it correctly installed and didn't appear, make sure you got this correct

~;
} # end mods column

$Top .= "
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
There is a subroutine called ReadNews that you have to add in that you must have forgotten. Look closely again at the directions for that.



~;
} # end mods column

$Row .= qq~~;

return($Row);
} # end normal table row

sub Normal_Table_Top {

# this is the table displayed on regular forum pages
my $Top = qq~





~;


if (($vars_display{ForumTotalOption} eq 'Both') || ($vars_display{ForumTotalOption} eq 'Topics')) {

$Top .= qq~



~;
} # end topic column


if (($vars_display{ForumTotalOption} eq 'Both') || ($vars_display{ForumTotalOption} eq 'Posts')) {

$Top .= qq~



~;
} # end posts column

$Top .= qq~



~;

if ($vars_display{ShowMods} ne 'no') {

$Top .= qq~



~;
} # end mods column

$Top .= "$newslinefader";

return ($Top);
} #end normal_table_top


sub Cat_Table_Top

# this is the table displayed on category-only forum pages
my $Top = qq~
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
Ok whats wrong here because this is giving me a head ache and thiers no point of us playing post tag


$Moderator

$vars_wordlets{forum_column}

$vars_wordlets{topic_column}

$vars_wordlets{post_column}

$vars_wordlets{last_post_column}

$vars_wordlets{moderator_column}
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
i want to change the outcome font face/size

please tell me which file to edit.

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
public_forum_summary.pl is the one to edit.

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Update on 2.0!

I FINALLY got the Total Topics and Total Posts display to work, so that will be added in 2.0. Fixed the table codes a bit, and will be adding an option so that you can set your fader width depending on the site resolution you like to use, "800 X 600," "1024 x 768" or you can give the width any number you want. I should have this done later this afternoon with instructions and upgrade instructions.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
ok thanks.

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Actually I've changed my mind, we all have so many different resolutions we like to use, I will just leave the field as a number you can input yourself and experiment with what works best for you.

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Ok 2.0 is done and uploaded!

Here are the changes from V1.4:
* Added ability to display total board posts and/or topics in fader
* Cleaned Up Table Codes
* Added ability to set width of fader depending on screen resolution

Download: News Fader 2.0

If you want an older version, see the first post in this thread.

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 273
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 273
Slurpee, maybe U should include a warning that says somehting like: If you have Total Posts and Topics Hack 1.1 by Tovok7 installed pass this step 'cos I think it's my complete hack that you integrated in yours!

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
ok i want to make my font size 1, and face verdana like on my stlye template.

i dont know what to edit, could you paste in a search for this to edit please?

Page 4 of 11 1 2 3 4 5 6 10 11

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Gizmo
Gizmo
Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 5,833
Joined: January 2000
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,573
Posts293,925
Members13,849
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,833
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2024 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20221218)