Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
CE Offline
like add the extra smiles hack, icq,aim, news fader thing, all of em, BUT make it so that they can be turned on and off so people who dont want them dont have to use them...

Sponsored Links
I'm not for certain, but I think it is because..

1). Originality- UBB is a company just like any developers (i.e. game consoles or computer manufacturers). They make a base product and people develop whatever they wish as long as it doesn't violate the copyrights agreements.
2). Upgradability- With dozens of hacks out there is no way to keep track of updates and even if you could do something like that it would be too much work/hassle to do that, when it seems people are fine with the idea of updating their own board as they go.
3). Compatiblity- Different hacks work for different versions. There may be similiar lines but react differently to a code.

There are a lot more reasons but that is my 2 cents. I'm no expert but it seems only logical.

------------------
Russell K.

I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Correct Russell... plus, what's cool to you and me, may not be to someone else... there's so many variations on the same hacks that no-one will happy with all of it, even if you can turn them off and on.

A few hacks have copyright issues as well... they can't be included in the downloadable ubb without some form of payment... sometimes a lot.

------------------
Allen

- http://www.stand318.com

- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Honestly, I think your both wrong >:0)

Most people would freely allow Infopop to add their hacks. And Infopop rewrites anything they do happen to add, so the code is original. Compatibility is not an issue, because the code will actually be infopop's addititon.

I believe the main reason is that they do not want to add any more user confusion, or increase the already high server load produced by the UBB... Many of the hacks add tremendous unneed overhead.

------------------