Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
I updated the templates on my site right after my last post to you

Sponsored Links
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Thanks Chuck!

I've updated the zip file in the first post

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 153
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 153
Will this table wrappers work well with Integrated Index Page?

Could I have the Integrated Index Page with the table wrappers and templates and stylesheets you use...

I noticed your site is two columns and Integrated Index Page is three... does it matter?

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
Yes the table wrappers work with IIP.

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
My index page is IIP, and I have it set to two columns in the IIP admin panel

If you download my table wrappers mod then you've got everything you need. Just follow the directions

Sponsored Links
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 153
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 153
Thank you.
Now I start to understand a bit how this works...
I am starte to get addicted to threads :-)

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
[]
I am starte to get addicted to threads :-) [/]

hehe... it's one addiction that's not a bad thing.

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,191
Kahuna
Kahuna
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,191
Unless your other half is standing right behind you with something heavy and wispering "Either you get away from the computer or else...."





Warm regards

Nikos


Nikos
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Thanks but I got it. I called the library but had to add the statement

send them the page Now it makes me want to code Photopost with the tbwrappers but thats another story. Working through the errors trying to use tbopen and tbclose within there is a headache.

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
LOL!

Oh no, you're hooked now. It's just a matter of time before you post a table wrappers mod for Photo Post...

The funny thing is that if you look at what Rick Baker has done with Threads the concept of placing script in a php file, and then html in a template that the php file includes, makes a lot of sense. If you want to add a new feature to the script, no problem. There isn't any html getting in the way when you are manipulating the php file. Want to change the way that the final html page looks to the client, no problem. Just edit the template, and the only time you'll have to mess with php script is if there is some sort of loop that's being used to recycle the html (the post lists being one example). Seperating the php script from the html actualy makes them both easier to edit.

Sponsored Links
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
That will be the next step for Photopost in the next upcoming release. Rick was kinda behind the eight ball on that one actually every other forum software even Infopop's UBB was separated into PHP code and Templates. I am glad to see Threads went this way as it is much easier.

I have done MOST of the main Photopost Index. You can see it here.

http://www.reeftalk.com/ubbthreads/gallery/index.php

I am still working around one problem getting the wrapper around the recent images and if I choise to display others.

if ( $Globals['mostrecent'] == "yes" && $Globals['recentdefault'] == "no" ) {
display_gallery("latest");
$output .= "<br />";
}

I have tried placing the $tbopen $tbclose variables in multiple spots and it needs to be in the form

$output .= "$tbopen"; as not to cause a parse error etc.

Now the problem being is that the top one shows up on those photo's however the closing one does not no matter what I do so thats why I say mostly have index done.

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
I must say you are definately getting into things! (in a good way)

Looking forward to seeing the fruits of your efforts.

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Thanks I am kinda getting into the template work just a bit.

Working on Photopost though is a pain the backside. Alot harder than working with just plain templates.

So far was able to get the one page done playing for an hour but still the one snag mentioned above which is killing me. When I resolve that I will move on with the other main two files showphoto and showgallery. Then the little files will be last.

Any ideas on this one? Below is the original code:

if ( $Globals['mostrecent'] == "yes" && $Globals['recentdefault'] == "no" ) {
display_gallery("latest");
$output .= "<br />";
}

Here is the code that will put the tbopen around but the tbclose will not show.

if ( $Globals['mostrecent'] == "yes" && $Globals['recentdefault'] == "no" ) {
$output .= "$tbopen";
display_gallery("latest");
$output .= "$tbclose";
$output .= "<br />";
}

I seem to be stumped as to my the opening table forms but the closing does not.

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,191
Kahuna
Kahuna
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,191
Chuck,

How about:
if ( $Globals['mostrecent'] == "yes" && $Globals['recentdefault'] == "no" ) {
$output .= "$tbopen";
$output .= "$<tr>";
$output .= "$<tb>";
display_gallery("latest");
$output .= "$</tb>";
$output .= "$</tr>";
$output .= "$tbclose";
$output .= "<br />";
}

Warm regards

Nikos


Nikos
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
you mean td not tb i assume and you do not need $ in front of them. Thanks you got me on the right track. I felt like slapping myself. Basic HTML there. I was too busy looking at code that I forgot that unlike templates which already have the <tr><td> variables there than I needed to add them.

Here is what the code is

if ( $Globals['mostrecent'] == "yes" && $Globals['recentdefault'] == "no" ) {
$output .= "$tbopen";
$output .= "<tr class="tdheader">";
$output .= "<td>";
display_gallery("latest");
$output .= "</td>";
$output .= "</tr>";
$output .= "$tbclose";
$output .= "<br />";
}

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
So Now Dalantech's mod goes even further into another program besides Threads.



I was able to get all 4 main Photopost files which call the tables to use the wrappers.

http://www.reeftalk.com/ubbthreads/gallery/index.php

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Looks good Chuck.

You are becoming quite active here as well in developing stuff. Good for you.

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Thanks

I don't think I develop anything I just try and help others when they ask.

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 610
Code Monkey
Code Monkey
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 610
You are good! I like it. I want it. I need it.


Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
That's what its about.

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
[]You are good! I like it. I want it. I need it.

[/]

I think shortbus is going for a record. The most mods ever installed on his forums.

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
ROFLMAO!

I told you...

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 610
Code Monkey
Code Monkey
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 610
I can't help it man. Why have it, if it isn't going to be as good as it can be?

One of these days, I'm going to hire all of you guys. I just have to be able to afford myself first.

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Keep track of all the files that you change, and why you changed them.Then, when a new version of Threads comes out, you can use a program like Beyond Compare to quickly apply all of your mods to the new version.

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,191
Kahuna
Kahuna
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,191
Damn! It guess I was really tired when I posted that. Yes Chuck it was td and without the $. What copy and paste can do to you.

Still I am happy that you managed to get an idea to sort it out.

Warm regards

Nikos


Nikos
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Shortbus,

Well lets see. I could write up what I did and post it. However keep in mind you will also need to do Dalantech's Table Wrappers Mod and I suggest as well using Justdave's CSS wrappers mod. You also need to have a registered copy of Photopost. Most important you need to design graphics. I might be able to design something for you if needed.

This would be my hack order:


1) Apply JustDave's CSSWrappers Mod

https://ubbdev.com/threads/php/...ew=collapsed&sb=5&o=&fpart=1

2) Expand on Dave's work by Doing Dalantech's Table Wrappers Mod on Threads.

https://ubbdev.com/threads/php/...ew=collapsed&sb=5&o=&fpart=1

3) Apply Dalantech's Header Mod ( so that it uses the table wrappers )

https://ubbdev.com/threads/php/...ew=collapsed&sb=5&o=&fpart=1

4) Then you can start Photopost modifications. It will take me a day or so to document it. This really belongs on the Photopost site more but anyway. Their are a number of things you need to do so this is an intensive hack. There are only 4 files to achieve that look. However the mod's in those 4 files are alot. XHTML compliance issues as well as modifications to doing away with Photopost's entire header/footer system and using Threads.

You can see their is alot of hacking involved or many hacks to achieve the look. I want uniformity on my site so I tackled Photopost. No sense having every other page use the tablewrappers and not Photopost.

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 176
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 176
question .
with I define table with to 95% in edit theme then the table gets smaller but the table wrap stays wide ..
did I miss something or ??

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Easy fix. Your tbopen template should look like this

<? //UBBTREMARK
$tbopen = <<<UBBTPRINT

<table width="{$theme['tablewidth']}" align="center" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td class="tlc"><img border="0" src="spacer.gif" width="10" height="10" alt="" /></td>
<td class="top"><img border="0" src="spacer.gif" width="10" height="10" alt="" /></td>
<td class="trc"><img border="0" src="spacer.gif" width="10" height="10" alt="" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="left"><img border="0" src="spacer.gif" width="10" height="10" alt="" /></td>
<td width="100%">
<table width="{$theme['tablewidth']}" align="center" cellpadding="1" cellspacing="1" class="tablesurround">
<tr>
<td>
<table cellpadding="{$theme['cellpadding']}" cellspacing="{$theme['cellspacing']}" width="100%" class="tableborders">

UBBTPRINT;
/* UBBTREMARK */ ?>

Just change it to this

<? //UBBTREMARK
$tbopen = <<<UBBTPRINT

<table width="{$theme['tablewidth']}" align="center" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td class="tlc"><img border="0" src="spacer.gif" width="10" height="10" alt="" /></td>
<td class="top"><img border="0" src="spacer.gif" width="10" height="10" alt="" /></td>
<td class="trc"><img border="0" src="spacer.gif" width="10" height="10" alt="" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="left"><img border="0" src="spacer.gif" width="10" height="10" alt="" /></td>
<td width="100%">
<table width="100%" align="center" cellpadding="1" cellspacing="1" class="tablesurround">
<tr>
<td>
<table cellpadding="{$theme['cellpadding']}" cellspacing="{$theme['cellspacing']}" width="100%" class="tableborders">

UBBTPRINT;
/* UBBTREMARK */ ?>


The second to last table needs to be set to 100% and it will autosize just fine.

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 176
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 176
yup that did it .. Thanks you

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Good catrch Chuck!

I'll update the original zip file later on today, and this bug will be fixed in the next release of the table wrappers mod

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 554
Code Monkey
Code Monkey
Offline
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 554
Finally worked up the muster to hjack my forums some more and I want to add table wrappers today.Just wanted to double check that this works with Threads 6.2.3.
Also Dalantech;

Your signature link is not loading but the link to your forums is working. (I was trying to get a peek at the 5x3 array)

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
That's odd, my index won't load but Da Forum is working

The 5x3 array does work for 6.2.3 and should work for all future versions of Threads (I don't see $tbopen and $tbclose going away anytime soon).

Page 2 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
JAISP
JAISP
PA
Posts: 449
Joined: February 2008
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,573
Posts293,925
Members13,849
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,833
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2024 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20221218)