Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Journeyman
Journeyman
Hello there Mr. Scream,

I am a bulletin board newbie and I have been searching for a suitable discussion server package for a looooonnnnggg time.

I was so glad to finally find you after your product was mentioned in a 3 year old product review on a rather obscure website.

I am frankly amazed that you have such a nice product from what I can tell so far and yet it doesn't appear anywhere in the reviews of such software by people like PC Magazine etc. in my opinion all of the other ones like the product from oreilly etc are overpriced and inferior products. I would have likely been using a package like yours long ago if I had known you exist.

I have downloaded the test site you have but I have had a few problems getting it up and running.

It wasn't terribly easy to install all of the bits and pieces necessary to make it work but I will do my best to muddle through it.

unlike your other customers I am not a web programmer although we do have one on staff but he's quite busy on customer projects right now. so I'm spearheading this project to acquire a topflight discussion server package that we can easily integrate within our website environment.

I have narrowed down my review to just 2 products, vBulletin and WWWThreads.

I am at the point of wanting to make a purchasing decision right away since we are planning to launch a board that we expect will become quite popular in our industry.

at this point I have 3 main questions:

1. I would like to know in your opinion the main advantages of your product over vBulletin.

in my limited view it seems your products are almost identical except that you offer a threaded mode and they only offer a linear, or flat, message view.

at this point I am leaning more towards W3T but vBulletin does have a nice look and feel, especially their sister site which is running vBulletin, VB Q & A forum.