Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#114865 10/17/2002 8:12 PM
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
Name: Separated Categories

Description: Adds space between the categories on your forum summary

Author: Travis, JC, several others... smile

Demo: https://www.ubbdev.com/test/ubbcgi/ultimatebb.cgi

Instructions: In public_forum_summary.pl, find:

Code
	my $CategoryStrip = qq~
and replace it with:

Code
if ($thisforumcategory eq "1") {
$cat_spacer ="";
} else {
$cat_spacer ="
";
}

my $CategoryStrip = qq~
$TBB
$cat_spacer
$TBT


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Sponsored Links
#114866 10/17/2002 9:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 97
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 97
wow I mean I am seriously impressed with turn around time smile

thanks

#114867 10/18/2002 12:16 AM
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
welcome smile I updated it with a simpler version that does the same thing and adds quite a bit less html smile


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
#114868 10/18/2002 7:04 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 97
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 97
OK Im going to try and push my luck smile

How go I get a header strip (for lack of a better descripter) on each post and not only on the 1st one smile

http://www.thedarkwatch.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=26;t=000011

#114869 01/13/2003 5:50 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 5
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 5
Does this changing of the code work with 6.4? I made the changes and it still looks the same. I would like to have it look like Chrimera's board

Sponsored Links
#114870 01/13/2003 6:00 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,080
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,080
It should.

#114871 01/13/2003 6:06 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 5
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 5
I guess I needed to update the the display settings. It works great now. Thanks

#114872 02/01/2003 1:05 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 58
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 58
How do you make the cells appear properly? On my board, the forum discription streches out the cells, and the the "Forum, Topics, Posts, Last Post" cells, for each board now come out un-aligned as a result.

#114873 02/01/2003 7:17 AM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 188
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 188
Agent316,

I to had the same problem, so I'm figuring the cell width must be defined for each column header, so this doesn't happen...

#114874 02/01/2003 12:44 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 58
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 58
Yes I figured that. We've found where to define the cell % for the table with the "Forum Topics Posts Last Post Moderators"

They however do not effect the actual cells below them with the actual info. Does anyone know where to go to edit those %'s? I guess they are seperate.

Sponsored Links
#114875 02/03/2003 7:02 PM
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
got a link to what's happening?


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
#114876 02/03/2003 7:50 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 58
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 58
I've taken the script out since it made every un-organized. , but I'll put it back and take screenshot to show you.

#114877 02/07/2003 9:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 58
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 58
I have an image of what is happening. I just need to know where to go to define %'s for tables.

Just a warning that this image is a very large file, so you may not want to even bother if your not on broadband.

http://pc.usgaming.net/ubb/Avatars/custom/example.gif

*edit*

Nevermind. I found another method of creating this effect that did it perfectly that didn't involve me defining any %'s. Thanx anyways. smile

#114878 02/12/2003 12:18 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 57
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 57
What was the Solution for this???

Is there revised code that works properly?

#114879 02/12/2003 5:36 PM
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
Check the demo link smile

Add width="4%" to the bulb column, width="5%" to the total posts and total topics columns and width="30%" to the column where the last post info is kept. If unclear, ask again smile


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
#114880 02/13/2003 11:27 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 57
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 57
I tried that and may have placed the widths in the wrong place...looked even funkier than before

(Those that were stoned at the time approved smile )

#114881 02/15/2003 5:18 PM
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
here's the demo file for comparison, keep in mind it's for 6.5 beta something smile

https://www.ubbdev.com/ubb/upload/00000494/public_forum_summary.txt


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
#114882 02/15/2003 9:05 PM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 159
The demo link is exactly what I want to do, but it would really help me if you could tell me where to put in the table widths in the code for the public forum summary page. I tried various places, but I wasn't able to get it right.

#114883 02/15/2003 11:12 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,080
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,080
This is a bit of a tricky question because with the way of UBB's default (unhacked) design if you try to create independent table category cells usually the category headers will not align with the forum description headers.

If you left the the original coding intact you will need to add the cell widths in the
tags such as "". I believe Allen had already set the "width" codes into the tags. You will find these tables after:

[code][/code]Just view the source of what Allen did and compare that with your public_forum_summary.p file. smile
#114884 02/16/2003 1:45 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
Spotlight Winner
Spotlight Winner
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
The problem is that there is no connection between the individual categories to force them to line up (td's) so the width attributes are necessary. I also had problems in the past with the "lightbulbs" still causing issues (not complying with the width commands) and had better luck with putting the lightbulb code and the forum name/description code in a table of it's own and assigning the width to the
that contains the new table.

I moved the lightbulbs to the right side and had it resove the problem too but not everyone wants the lightbulbs over there.
#114885 02/16/2003 1:56 PM
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
hmm... I added a width="4%" for the lightbulb column and it seemed to solve it, maybe the code is different in the newer versions smile

Ellen, grab a copy of beyond compare and see how the file I posted compares to yours smile

www.scootersoftware.com


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
#114886 02/16/2003 11:51 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,080
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,080
Hehe...I moved the lightbulb
to another location. laugh
#114887 02/18/2003 3:51 PM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 159
Thanks for the reply, I'll give it a try.

#114888 02/26/2003 1:17 PM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 159
Unfortunately, I still haven't been able to get this to work. Is there anyone who was successful who would be willing to post their code? Thanks in advance!

#114889 02/26/2003 7:31 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
Spotlight Winner
Spotlight Winner
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
I took an alternate method to solve the lightbulb issue. See if this makes sense.

I took the
that the lightbulbs are in and the that the forum name is in and placed them in a table of their own so that the width of the now single was more controllable.

[code][/code]I used this on a new fixed width board I'm building so you'll probably want to use percentages. I hope this helps. If you need more info and you think I can help come on over to Netwerkin in my sig and either myself or some of the Netwerkin members would be glad to help.
#114890 02/26/2003 7:36 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
Spotlight Winner
Spotlight Winner
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
Sorry, I forgot to add that you'll need to change the colspan in a couple places since there'll be one less.

#114891 02/27/2003 9:11 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 794
Content Queen
Content Queen
Offline
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 794
This is probably the wrong thread to ask this, but is there any chance that the concept of "separated categories" can be applied to "separated posts"--ala JC Templates--without having to do JC Templates? laugh (hey, it's worth the question! wink )


Sue
adwoff.com
#114892 03/01/2003 7:02 PM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 159
TheX: Thank you so much for taking the time to post that! It was just what I needed. As you said, I have to change the colspan, but the rows are now lining up. It was really nice of you to do this.

#114893 03/01/2003 11:37 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
Spotlight Winner
Spotlight Winner
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
Quote
quote:
Originally posted by ADWOFF:
This is probably the wrong thread to ask this, but is there any chance that the concept of "separated categories" can be applied to "separated posts"--ala JC Templates--without having to do JC Templates? laugh (hey, it's worth the question! wink )
It's really easy also, I was doing it before the JCTemplates. Let me find the code I used and get it documented.

quote:
[qb]Originally posted by Ellen:
TheX: Thank you so much for taking the time to post that! It was just what I needed. As you said, I have to change the colspan, but the rows are now lining up. It was really nice of you to do this.[/qb]
Absolutely my pleasure. The people here have given me more help than I'll ever be able to repay.

#114894 03/01/2003 11:44 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,080
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,080
Hehe...The Category Separation (back in late 2001) is how X and I got to know each other. smile

#114895 03/01/2003 11:56 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
Spotlight Winner
Spotlight Winner
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
Adwoff, this is the easy way to seperate the posts on 6.5, I think 6.4 should be nearly identical

[code][/code]

#114896 03/02/2003 4:20 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 794
Content Queen
Content Queen
Offline
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 794
Thank you! thumbsup

I love coming here and asking for help. smile


Sue
adwoff.com
#114897 03/06/2003 12:38 AM
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
thanks X thumbsup

if ok with you, I may post that in a seperate thread so people can find it smile


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
#114898 03/07/2003 10:50 AM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 159
Unfortunately, while the columns lined up, it gave me a javascript error. Did anyone else have that?

#114899 03/07/2003 5:05 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
Spotlight Winner
Spotlight Winner
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Ellen:
Unfortunately, while the columns lined up, it gave me a javascript error. Did anyone else have that?
That code is taken straight from my 6.5 test board, let me have another look at it when I get on that server later this afternoon.

#114900 03/10/2003 7:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 178
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 178
I just got a user having a similiar problem to Ellens.

Quote
quote:
I'm sure you're innundated with issues (I hope not!) on the new board format but...

I am getting "Object Expected" errors all over the board, where I was successfully getting the graphics when you first made the changes.

Any clue?

Too many little red X's! ;-)

I'm using IE 6.0
This is after splitting the Categories and Topics pages.

Thanks!

#114901 03/10/2003 10:39 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
Spotlight Winner
Spotlight Winner
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
I have no idea how the errors are happening. I just did it to a clean 6.5 board and it works fine. I didn't apply Allen's code though but that shouldn't cause any problems either. I don't think the post seperation on the topic page is causing anything because there isn't any javascript involved, just in the bulbize area of the summary page.

#114902 03/11/2003 12:10 AM
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 178
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 178
Thanks X,
Works fine for looks like 99% of the people on my 6.5 as well. Javascript and Java are two different animals correct? I had to d/l the Sun Java for my IE since the court order, and mine works fine. Grasping at straws though. I did do Allens hack, is yours significantly different besides the addition of more cells? I did both his and yours at the same time so got the finger pointing mixed up smile Looks like Ellen is talking about Allens as well.

ALLEN! Help laugh

#114903 03/11/2003 12:22 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
Spotlight Winner
Spotlight Winner
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,849
I didn't post all of mine since I hack the page up more than you'd want to. I remove the bar at the top of the summary page with Forums--topics--posts etc and move it onto the category name line. It is odd that it causes errors since the javascript hasn't been modified, just wrapped inside another table. It would be nice if we could get LK to look at this since he is the guru guy with this stuff.

#114904 03/11/2003 6:41 PM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 159
Allen's modification to separate the categories and TheX'x modification to insert a space between posts both worked perfectly.

However, with the category space modification, the tables for different categories did not line up exactly. When I used TheX's code to do this, the tables lined up better, but I got a javascript error.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
isaac
isaac
California
Posts: 1,157
Joined: July 2001
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,573
Posts293,925
Members13,849
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,833
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2024 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20221218)